1.3 Family

Screenshot-640

“Get that camera out of my face” Sydney all but growled at Tain.

“Awe come on honey just a few more,” he raised the camera only to find Syd’s hand firmly planted in front of the lens.

“I’ve had enough” she scowled at him cocking an eyebrow half daring him to take another picture.

Setting the camera on a nearby table Tain knelt down in front of her. “Your beautiful.”

Her scowl deepened “I am not. I’m fat. My face is puffy. My ankles are non-existent. I’m a huge ugly marshmallow.”

Screenshot-641

Snorting despite his gallant effort to hold it in Tain took her hand “you’re the most radiant, beautiful girl I know…”

Rolling her eyes she took her hand away “you need glasses or you don’t know that many girls. I know what I look like. They still let me have mirrors in this place even if they don’t let me walk around.” She crossed her arms across her stomach. “I’m as big as a house. Just look at that. I can barely put my arms around my belly anymore.”

“I think it’s adorable,” he leaned forward and kissed her protruding stomach.

“You better since I might look like this forever” she complained despite the growing smile that brightened her face.

“I’ll take forever,” he said getting to his feet and picking up his camera “now say cheese.”

Screenshot-644

“You’re going to regret this,” she said through gritted teeth covering her face.

Snapping one more picture he said “oh I doubt that.” Glancing at the clock he handed the camera to her as he moved to push the wheel chair back to her room.

“Is it time to go back already?” a whiny note in her voice “I’m not tired.”

“Quit your whining. You’re as bad a two year old” Tain scolded.

“Am not,” she pouted. Picking up the camera she began to go through the pictures he had taken.

Screenshot-642

“Don’t you dare delete them” Tain advised her.

“Would I do that?” she asked trying to sound innocent as her finger hovered over the delete key.

“Yes you would,” he grabbed the camera before she could wipe it clean.

Upon entering her room a couple of nurses were waiting for them. One nurse helped her from the wheel chair while the other prepared the monitor. As she settled into the bed for her afternoon nap the nurses connected her to the machines. For a moment she watched the heart monitor bleep and blip for each of the triplets. “They’re still ok” she murmured looking up at Tain.

“Yes they are” he agreed kissing her forehead lightly “I’ll be here when you wake up.”

Screenshot-645

“I know,” she said her eyes already drooping as she drifted off to sleep.

***

A couple weeks later Tain squeezed her hand in equals parts anxiety, excitement and reassurance. “This is it,” he whispered “we’re about to become parents.”

She tried to smile up at him despite the pain of being jostled around. She wished she could share his excitement. The only identifiable feeling she had was fear. She was afraid she’d be a terrible mom. A selfish terrible person like she felt her own mother had been. Her memory may be clouded by her own selfishness but she didn’t want her children feeling the same way about her. It was already going to be hard enough knowing she had so little time to be with them.

Tain reached out and brushed her hair back from her face. “There’s nothing to worry about. They’ll put you to sleep for the whole operation. When you wake up you’ll be the mother of three.”

Turning her head she kissed his fingers where they rested on the gurney. “We haven’t even settled on names for them yet.”

Screenshot-646

“There’s plenty of time for that.”

“It’s time” the nurse informed them.

Nodding he kissed her forehead softly. “I’ll see you when you wake up” He let his fingers slip through her hand as they wheeled her away. He kept up his brave exterior until she was out of sight. He began to tremble as he gave in to the fear and worry he felt but refused to show. He felt that at any moment he would drown under each wave of uncertainty.

“She’s strong and she’s stubborn. She’ll get through this” a familiar voice said behind him.

“Gene?” Tain asked jerking upright “I didn’t think you could make it.”

Screenshot-647

“Dad couldn’t. He hasn’t been himself since he lost Amelia. He didn’t want to compound Syd’s situation with his grief.” Gene shrugged “I guess you’re stuck with me.” He guided Tain over to some chairs where they could wait.

Following the older man Tain sat down where directed “you should be home with your wife and family…”

“Aimee’s the one who told me to come” Gene told him “don’t worry about them. She and dad will be alright.”

Nodding Tain’s mind already focusing in on something else as he asked “how do you manage triplets?”

“You don’t” Gene laughed “they manage you. You’ll do fine. You’re lots younger than me and can run faster.”

Screenshot-648

Resting his head in his hands Tain said “I don’t know how. Sydney is going to need a lot of care herself eventually whether she thinks so or not. I just don’t know how I’m going to manage it all on my own.”

“Son you don’t have to,” Gene told him firmly “you belong to a large family who will help you all we can. All you have to do is ask.” Leaning forward Gene gave Tain a thoughtful glance “my daughter Stephanie is still in Roaring Heights. She hasn’t been able to find a good steady job yet and I know she doesn’t want to admit defeat and come home. I could ask her if she’d be interested in being a nanny. That way you’ll have help with the babies without having to worry about whether that person will be selling information about you and your family to the tabloids.”

“Do you think she would?” he asked perking at the idea.

“She might. I can give her a call and find out. Then you can follow up once you’ve discussed it with Syd,” Gene told him.

“I’ll do that” Tain took her number “thank you. That’s one less thing to worry about at least.” Glancing at the clock he muttered “how long does it take” he complained.

Screenshot-649

“She’ll be ok” Gene resisted the urge to join the younger man in clock watching. He had to remain calm otherwise Tain wouldn’t anyone to lean on in case Sydney didn’t make it through the operation. A very real possibility even without her added complication. Something Gene was all too well aware of. The twins mother had passed away from complications at birth. He hoped Tain wouldn’t have to go through that pain but they both knew it was an eventuality he would have to face in the very near future but if everything went well not today.

Dozing in the uncomfortable chairs Tain abruptly sat up at the sound of a nurse saying his name “Mr Sugihara…”

“Is she alright?” he asked jumping to his.

“If you’ll come with me I’ll take you to her” she turned and walked away.

Tain turned to look at Gene who waved him on saying “go go.” Knowing if had been bad news they would have told him already. He breathed a sigh of relief as he followed he nurse. She stepped aside waiting for him to enter the room. “Congratulations” she said as he slipped past her.

Screenshot-650

Upon entering the room he found Sydney lying on the bed with a baby in her arms. She looked up and smiled “come and meet your son.”

Walking towards her felt like he was floating on clouds. Looking into the bundle in her arms Tain said “he’s beautiful.” He reached out a hand and felt his son’s tiny hand wrap around his fingers. He looked up as two nurses came into the room carrying two more wrapped bundles. “Those are our daughters” Sydney informed him weariness apparent in her voice.
“Would you like me to take the baby?” he asked.

“Please” she nodded “I’m so tired I could sleep for a week.” She smiled weakly when she felt his lips brush against her cheek before the slight weight of the baby was lifted from her.

“He’s so tiny” he marveled at the perfection that was his son. He walked slowly towards the nurses holding his daughters. “Hi my little princesses” he murmured “your grandmother is never going to want to go home once she sees you.”

With reluctance Tain watched the nurses take the triplets to the nursery. The room felt so empty without them. He slipped into a chair beside Sydney and watched her sleep.

***

Screenshot-651

He must have dozed off for a minute or two. When he opened his eyes an unfamiliar man was reading Sydney’s chart. “Who are you?” he asked getting to his feet and blocking the door so that the the man couldn’t bolt from the room.

“I’m one of Mrs Sugihara’s doctors,” the man barely glanced in Tain’s direction.

Crossing his arms Tain shook his head “no you’re not. I’ve met the surgical team and nurses. You weren’t one of them.”

“You must be mistaken,” the man made a note before closing the chart. Turning to face Tain he smiled “kindly remove yourself from the door.”

“Not until you explain who you are and why you’re here?”

Screenshot-652

“I don’t have time to indulge your curiosity” the man took a step forward muscles bulging beneath the doctor’s white coat.

The manner in which he spoke Tain was positive he had seen him before…but where? Eyes widening in recognition “leave us alone.”

“She’s no concern of ours now” the man gave him a nasty thin lipped snarl “she’ll be dead within a few years. The triplets took a lot out of her.”

“You had no right…”

“She’s the one with no rights. She’s only alive because of us. So what we performed an experiment on a specimen. We own her. We brought her back to life. She owes us.”

Screenshot-653

The door opened and Doctor Rogers walked in “what are you doing in here? I told you that none of your people were allowed in here…”

“Don’t worry I’m leaving” the man brushed against Tain “one day you’ll come begging to us for help.”

“Don’t count on it,” he snarled in reply.

“Have it your way” the man stopped and looked over his shoulder at Sydney “you’ll change your mind when it’s your kid lying in the hospital and we’re the only ones who can help.”

“Get out,” Tain shouted fists bulging aching to pound into the sneering face of the scientist standing inches from him.

Screenshot-654

Snorting the man stepped back giving Tain a self-satisfied nod “you’ll come. You’ll have no other choice but to come. You’ll always wonder if we’re able to save them.” Leaning in close he whispered in Tains ear “and we can.” Without another word the man slipped from the room.

Ears buzzing Tain barely heard Dr Rogers on the phone with security. One or two words slipped through otherwise his mind was rehashing the scientists harsh words. Two words registered in Tain’s consciousness security and nursery. The babies his mind screamed at him. He ran from the room, down the hall towards the nursery. Panting when he arrived leaning on the glass relief flooding through him as he gazed down at his children. The scientist no where in sight.

***

They spent another month in Sunset Valley before making their way home to Roaring Heights. Tain’s mother greeted them as they got out of the taxi.

“Mom what are you doing here?” Tian asked as he was pulled into a fierce hug.

“I had to come,” she told him hugging Sydney “you need help with the triplets.”

Screenshot-655

“Thanks mom” murmured “I appreciate it.”

“How long will you be here?” Sydney asked turning to get one of the triplets from the taxi while Tain got their luggage from the trunk.

“Here let me do that” her mother-in-law pushed her away.

Frowning Sydney watched her for a moment making short work of getting the babies for the taxi. Taking one of the girls Sydney walked into the house before she could react to the growing irritation she felt. She didn’t want to be treated like an invalid. She wanted to be treated like a normal human being even if she wasn’t. “Come on baby let’s check out the nursery Cousin Stephanie prepared for you.” As she walked up the stairs she wondered where her cousin was and why she wasn’t there to greet them.

She opened the door into the room she told Stephanie to decorate and furnish for the babies. She gasped in shock when Stephanie jumped up yelling “surprise” along with “Ari Gold.”

Screenshot-656

“Welcome home Syd” he greeted her with a peck on the cheek.

“Do you like it?” Stephanie asked fidgeting with her fingers “Ari helped me. Dad assisted with getting everything delivered in time.”

“It’s wonderful” she looked around the room smiling “it’s exactly the way I imagined. Thank you so much.” She put the baby in one of the cribs “why weren’t you downstairs when we arrived?”

“Well I…I didn’t want to intrude on your homecoming with Tain’s mom.”

“Don’t be silly your family same as her,” Sydney hugged her “did you decide on a room you liked?”

Screenshot-657

“I did but Mrs Sugihara fancied it so I let her have it.”

“You shouldn’t have done that” Sydney fumed “I told you to take whatever room you liked…”

“I know but she’s your guest.” Shrugging “it’s not like she’s going to stay here forever. It’s ok really it is. Besides I was hoping that since she’s here I could go home and visit my parents. That is if you don’t need me.”

Sydney watched Ari put his arm around her protectively. Saw the glint of light on her ring finger “don’t tell me your engaged” she said grabbing her hand.

“I am I mean we are” Stephanie said “dad knows but I wanted to tell mom myself. Dad promised he wouldn’t tell her.”

Screenshot-658

“I thought you were dating Cass…”

“I was for a while but things didn’t work out. We broke up a month or so after your wedding. I met Ari and I don’t know” the beamed happily up at Ari “it just clicked and we’ve been together ever since.”

“Congratulations” Sydney hugged her and Ari “now I know the true reason why you didn’t want to go home. When you come back we’ll go shopping and planning the wedding.”

“I’d like that” Stephanie told her then added “if it’s not too much for you.”

“I wish people would stop treating me like I’m made of glass” her annoyance filled the room like a gust of wind “I want to live my life the best way I can while I can. So don’t baby me or walk on tip toes around me. Just treat me like you always have and if I need help I’ll let you know.”

Screenshot-659

“I think we can do that,” Ari agreed easily turning to Steph “you ready babe?”

“All packed” she grinned up at him. Sydney watched them leave hand in hand. They looked so happy and for a moment she let jealousy cloud her mind wishing she had that carefree happiness too.

***

“Honey don’t you think you should be resting?” Tain asked coming up behind her.

Before he cold put his arms around her Sydney lashed out. “I wish you’d stop treating me like a porcelain doll. I’ll rest when I’m tired.”

“You know what the doctor said…”

Screenshot-661

“I know I was there,” she crossed her arms turning away from him. Her mind flashing back to the easy happiness that she envied of Ari and Stephanie. That had been her and Tain not so long ago. She didn’t want to be constantly at each other’s throats for whatever time she had left. “I just want to live my life as normally as possible,” she said turning to Tain “I can’t do that if you constantly wrap me up in cotton balls and bubble wrap.”

“I’m sorry” it was his turn to feel at a loss. He hadn’t thought his life would be like this. He thought he’d have a lifetime with someone he loved. Instead he’d have a few short years. How had his mother coped all those years without his dad? “I suppose that means you still want to teach underprivileged children how to paint?”

“It does but I’m willing to change the amount of time and place.” She smiled up at him “I know this is difficult for you. I wish with all my heart it could be different.” She reached up to stroke his face “I wanted the fairy tale ending of living happily ever after too.”

Leaning into her touch he nodded “how about one day a week for a couple of hours? We can turn one of the rooms upstairs into an art studio.”

“That would be wonderful,” she leaned forward and planted a kiss on his lips “I love you.”

Screenshot-662

“I can’t say no to you,” he pulled her close rubbing his hands up and down her back.

“Then why do you keep trying?” she murmured against his chest.

Laughing softly “it may be in the vain hope that you’ll actually listen to me.”

“Oh I listen I just don’t always agree with what I hear.” She looked up at him “but I promise to always listen.”

“But not necessarily agree?”

“I’d take it if I were you,” she cocked an eyebrow at him “it’s the best you’re gonna get.”

8 thoughts on “1.3 Family

    • That scientist was only there to see how their ‘experiment’ was doing. The original team of scientists on the resurrection project have all been replaced with a group that are a lot more ruthless. The man’s words are going to haunt Tain especially when any of the kids become sick. He’s always going to wonder if they are going to have the same flaw as their mother…It’s going to make keeping his promise difficult. They will have plenty of help with Stephanie being there as the nanny and we’ll see Ari helping out too. So they’ll manage. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Holy wow… triplets! I hardly ever get multiples in my saves..! The Bennetts really are like rabbits! So are you going to do an heir vote when the time comes? Or have you already decided?

    Great chapter! I’d like to say that I hope it gets better for Tain and Syd, but I know that isn’t going to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get multiples all the time. One sim had two pregnancies but wound up with five kids. Yes there will definitely be an heir vote. Probably when the kids are 5 right before or right after Sydney is gone. I haven’t decided yet.
      I wish things could be different for them too. I blame the legacy rules because I would give them a happy ending otherwise 😦 For now though things will calm down as Tain and Syd make the best of a bad situation. His promise in chapter 2 and what the scientist said in Chapter 3 will come back to haunt Tain after she’s gone and whoever the heir is starts showing signs of the genetic defect.
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

    • Hmm I might have to reconsider how I’m portraying her. I wasn’t going for unlikable. Pushy and maybe a little entitled. She’s there to help and she’s not going to take no for an answer. She really does have the best of intentions at heart. She just may be going about it wrong.

      Like

    • Gotta love story progression. At the wedding Ari was all into Joyce Bennett and Steph was all into Cass another ex BC contestant. Then the game broke them all up and the game announced that Ari and Steph were engaged. I decided to go with it since I was going to bring Stepn into the story I brought Ari along too. They made some adorable kids too which you’ve seen two of them in NSRL.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment